Welcome to the International Club of Canada
"Hands across the net, friendship across the ocean "

Welcome to the International Club of Canada

Aims of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada

To promote friendship and sportsmanship in tennis between Canada and other countries by hosting tennis events with other IC countries and supporting tennis development in Canada by providing mentorship for young tennis players.

The first meeting of Active Members of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada was held at the Albany Club in Toronto on Wednesday, August 11, 1965, at 12.30 p.m. Laird Watt, the first president of the Club, was unable to attend and Gilbert Nunns chaired the meeting. In addition to Gilbert those attending the meeting in person or by proxy were familiar names in Canadian tennis history: Peter Barnard, John Bassett, Bob Barnard, François Godbout, Bruce Harrison, Sydney Hermant, Jim Macken, Harry Marpole and Walter Martin. Don Fontana, captain of the Club, agreed to approach the I.C. of the USA for a match in 1966. There were discussions of a black tie dinner, a match against a touring team from England and plans to participate in I.C. matches in Holland. The Canadian I.C. was up and operating. It had officially received “International Club” recognition just six weeks before, at the annual meeting of the Council of I.C.’s held each year during the fortnight of Wimbledon. It joined thirteen other nations with International Clubs, all existing with a common interest in the game of tennis.

The annual match with the USA Club has been the main regular event of the Club since that time, with matches alternating each year between the Donalda Club and various locations in the USA. The Piping Rock Club on Long Island, The Merion Cricket Club in Philadelphia, The West Side Tennis Club on Long Island. In 1971 the matches were divided in an open event competing for the Proctor Cup and a seniors event for the new Lawrence Baker Trophy. Women’s matches were included in the late 90’s and starting in the year 2000 teams will play for the Carole Graebner Trophy. 

There is no doubt that tournaments for the Windmill, Christiane Mercelis, and Columbus Trophies represent the highlights of the I.C. Movement. On these occasions many of the now 42 International Clubs meet in team competition. In these tournaments old friendships across the net and across the nations are renewed, and new ones made. Equally enjoyable are the I.C. Tours where teams of I.C. players tour other countries at the invitation of their I.C.’s, or host visiting teams.

This brief review of the Club’s history would not be complete without an expression of gratitude to the spirit behind the creation of the I.C. Club of Canada, the Late Bruce Harrison and those who have served on the Club’s executive, particularly its presidents: Laird Watt, Walter Martin, John Proctor, Jim Skelton, Frank Mott-Trille, Brian Flood and David Dimmer.

News & Results

View all news & results >>

IC Council News

January 2024
Remembering Jiri Medonos, IC of Czech Republic

Remembering Jiri Medonos, IC of Czech Republic

It is with great sadness that we must inform you that Jiri Medonos, long time IC of Czech Republic Captain and Vice President, Federation Cup Captain and a close friend to many members of our IC community, passed away in December at the age of 77 after a long battle with illness. Jiri left behind two sons, Jakub and Marek, and their families and second wife Ruth.

We know many of you met and knew Jiri, as he was instrumental in the organisation of the IC June Prague event since its inception.

Here is a summary of his tennis achievements, in addition to his IC involvement:

  • Czechoslovak International Champion in doubles (1973 - 1974) and mixed doubles (1971)
  • Member of the junior winning team of the Galea Cup (1966)
  • Captain of the Federation Cup team: 3 times winners (1984 – 1985 and 1988), finalists (1986) and semi-finalists (1987 and 1989)
  • Recipient of The Main Fair Play Prize for his lifelong attitude, awarded by the Czech Fair Play Club, constituent part of Czech Olympic Committee for 2017 – and was also nominated for the World Fair Play Prize for the same year
  • The first recipient of the Fed Cup President’s Award, introduced by David Haggerty in 2018.

The Czech IC Committee has decided to pay tribute to Jiri and would like to inform you that in his honour, their summer IC doubles event will henceforth be called the ‘IC CQS Jiri MEDONOS Cup’.

On behalf of our IC community around the world, we extend our condolences to Jiri’s family and friends at this time.

Previous Article IC India win the IC Rod Laver IC Junior Challenge Worldwide Finals in La Jolla
Next Article ‘Rocket’ Rod Laver shares his reflections on the IC Rod Laver Junior Challenge
View more >>

Tennis Websites