Welcome to the International Club of Canada
"Hands across the net, friendship across the ocean "

Welcome to the International Club of Canada

Aims of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada

To promote friendship and sportsmanship in tennis between Canada and other countries by hosting tennis events with other IC countries and supporting tennis development in Canada by providing mentorship for young tennis players.

The first meeting of Active Members of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada was held at the Albany Club in Toronto on Wednesday, August 11, 1965, at 12.30 p.m. Laird Watt, the first president of the Club, was unable to attend and Gilbert Nunns chaired the meeting. In addition to Gilbert those attending the meeting in person or by proxy were familiar names in Canadian tennis history: Peter Barnard, John Bassett, Bob Barnard, François Godbout, Bruce Harrison, Sydney Hermant, Jim Macken, Harry Marpole and Walter Martin. Don Fontana, captain of the Club, agreed to approach the I.C. of the USA for a match in 1966. There were discussions of a black tie dinner, a match against a touring team from England and plans to participate in I.C. matches in Holland. The Canadian I.C. was up and operating. It had officially received “International Club” recognition just six weeks before, at the annual meeting of the Council of I.C.’s held each year during the fortnight of Wimbledon. It joined thirteen other nations with International Clubs, all existing with a common interest in the game of tennis.

The annual match with the USA Club has been the main regular event of the Club since that time, with matches alternating each year between the Donalda Club and various locations in the USA. The Piping Rock Club on Long Island, The Merion Cricket Club in Philadelphia, The West Side Tennis Club on Long Island. In 1971 the matches were divided in an open event competing for the Proctor Cup and a seniors event for the new Lawrence Baker Trophy. Women’s matches were included in the late 90’s and starting in the year 2000 teams will play for the Carole Graebner Trophy. 

There is no doubt that tournaments for the Windmill, Christiane Mercelis, and Columbus Trophies represent the highlights of the I.C. Movement. On these occasions many of the now 42 International Clubs meet in team competition. In these tournaments old friendships across the net and across the nations are renewed, and new ones made. Equally enjoyable are the I.C. Tours where teams of I.C. players tour other countries at the invitation of their I.C.’s, or host visiting teams.

This brief review of the Club’s history would not be complete without an expression of gratitude to the spirit behind the creation of the I.C. Club of Canada, the Late Bruce Harrison and those who have served on the Club’s executive, particularly its presidents: Laird Watt, Walter Martin, John Proctor, Jim Skelton, Frank Mott-Trille, Brian Flood and David Dimmer.

News & Results

View all news & results >>

IC Council News

December 2023
Double victory for IC Spain at the 50th Potter Cup and Two Presidents’ Cup

Double victory for IC Spain at the 50th Potter Cup and Two Presidents’ Cup

The International Lawn Tennis Club of Spain achieved a significant double victory in October at the Real Club de Polo de Barcelona. The men's team successfully defended their title in the celebratory 50th edition of the Potter Cup, while the women's team, competing at the RCTB 1899 facilities, secured an unprecedented milestone by winning the Two Presidents' Cup.

The victorious men's team, comprising former world veterans' champion Roberto Menéndez, Pepe Vicente, Jonathan García-Leo, Eduardo Sanz, and Xavier Llucià, clinched the Potter Cup with a decisive 5-0 victory over IC Germany in the final. Earlier rounds saw them triumph over IC Belgium (5-0) and IC Italy (4-1), with former Davis Cup and Roland Garros champion Albert Costa, Ivan Angulo, Oriol Molina and Antonio Díaz de las Casas also contributing to their success. On the opposite side of the draw, IC Germany secured a narrow 4-3 win over IC France, earning them the third position after a loss to IC Italy.

IC USA claimed fifth place by defeating IC Great Britain 4-1, while IC Belgium and IC Ireland secured the seventh and eighth positions respectively, after IC Belgium won their match 4-1.

In the VI Two Presidents Cup, IC Spain, represented by Gisela Riera, Cristina Fontelles, Eva Bes and Sonia Delgado, captivated local spectators in a closely contested match that went down to the wire. Manon Kruse narrowly defeated Gisela Riera 7-6(2) 6-4 in the singles, but the score was levelled at 1-1 when Spanish player Cristina Fontelles won 7-6(7) 6-3 against Steffi Lauton Schlager. The decisive doubles match saw Bes and Gisela Riera secure a hard-fought 3-6, 6-4, 6-3 victory over Kruse and Kraupa, clinching the championship for IC Spain. Earlier in the competition, IC Spain had defeated IC Ireland (2-0) and IC Great Britain (2-0). IC Switzerland claimed the fifth position, followed by IC France, IC Belgium, and IC Ireland.

Following intense competition, players and captains enjoyed the social aspects of the tournament's conclusion, which also recognised the many institutions that have supported the Potter Cup over its 50 years and was attended by Peter McQuibban, President of the Council of International Clubs. Team captains gave their thanks to the organizers and expressed interest in participating in future editions.

The L Potter Cup, also known as the "XIX Campionat de Catalunya de Veterans - XX Gran Premi Generalitat de Catalunya," received support from the Real Federacion Española de Tenis, the Federacio Catalana de Tennis, the Ajuntament de Barcelona, the RCT Barcelona-1899, the Real Club de Polo, Lexus and AON.

Documents to download

Previous Article IC Council e-Newsletter - September 2023
Next Article IC India win the IC Rod Laver IC Junior Challenge Worldwide Finals in La Jolla
View more >>

Tennis Websites