Welcome to the International Club of Canada
"Hands across the net, friendship across the ocean "

Welcome to the International Club of Canada

Aims of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada

To promote friendship and sportsmanship in tennis between Canada and other countries by hosting tennis events with other IC countries and supporting tennis development in Canada by providing mentorship for young tennis players.

The first meeting of Active Members of the International Lawn Tennis Club of Canada was held at the Albany Club in Toronto on Wednesday, August 11, 1965, at 12.30 p.m. Laird Watt, the first president of the Club, was unable to attend and Gilbert Nunns chaired the meeting. In addition to Gilbert those attending the meeting in person or by proxy were familiar names in Canadian tennis history: Peter Barnard, John Bassett, Bob Barnard, François Godbout, Bruce Harrison, Sydney Hermant, Jim Macken, Harry Marpole and Walter Martin. Don Fontana, captain of the Club, agreed to approach the I.C. of the USA for a match in 1966. There were discussions of a black tie dinner, a match against a touring team from England and plans to participate in I.C. matches in Holland. The Canadian I.C. was up and operating. It had officially received “International Club” recognition just six weeks before, at the annual meeting of the Council of I.C.’s held each year during the fortnight of Wimbledon. It joined thirteen other nations with International Clubs, all existing with a common interest in the game of tennis.

The annual match with the USA Club has been the main regular event of the Club since that time, with matches alternating each year between the Donalda Club and various locations in the USA. The Piping Rock Club on Long Island, The Merion Cricket Club in Philadelphia, The West Side Tennis Club on Long Island. In 1971 the matches were divided in an open event competing for the Proctor Cup and a seniors event for the new Lawrence Baker Trophy. Women’s matches were included in the late 90’s and starting in the year 2000 teams will play for the Carole Graebner Trophy. 

There is no doubt that tournaments for the Windmill, Christiane Mercelis, and Columbus Trophies represent the highlights of the I.C. Movement. On these occasions many of the now 42 International Clubs meet in team competition. In these tournaments old friendships across the net and across the nations are renewed, and new ones made. Equally enjoyable are the I.C. Tours where teams of I.C. players tour other countries at the invitation of their I.C.’s, or host visiting teams.

This brief review of the Club’s history would not be complete without an expression of gratitude to the spirit behind the creation of the I.C. Club of Canada, the Late Bruce Harrison and those who have served on the Club’s executive, particularly its presidents: Laird Watt, Walter Martin, John Proctor, Jim Skelton, Frank Mott-Trille, Brian Flood and David Dimmer.

News & Results

View all news & results >>

IC Council News

July 2023
75th Anniversary Royal International Lawn Tennis Club of Belgium Columbus Trophy + La Carreta

75th Anniversary Royal International Lawn Tennis Club of Belgium Columbus Trophy + La Carreta

On the occasion of its 75th anniversary, the IC of Belgium has organized two important competitions of the IC Council in Brussels from 25 to 30 June 2023:

  • La Carreta for ladies W50+ and W60+
  • The Columbus Trophy for men M55+ and M65+

The participating countries were as follows:

  • 8 teams in La Carreta (ladies): South Africa, Germany, Canada, Great Britain, Spain, USA, Luxembourg, Belgium
  • 10 teams in Columbus (men): Mexico, Luxembourg, France, Ireland, Canada, Spain, Great Britain, Holland, USA, Belgium.

A total of 70 players participated in the event.

The winner of La Carreta was South Africa, defeating Germany in the final with two ladies (René Plant and Rosanne Duke) who were absolutely unbeatable in the doubles.

The winner of the Columbus was the USA after a superb final against Spain. The number 1 singles (55+ and 65+) were both decided by a super tie-break in favour of the USIC players. After the singles, USIC was leading 3-1. A victory in the doubles 65+ was sufficient for them to win the trophy.

The competition was played with knock-out draws and consolation ties to rank the teams according to their results. It took place in two clubs: the well-known Royal Leopold Club and the very nice club of Le Roseau.

The atmosphere was fantastic throughout the week, and the matches were often of great quality, reflecting the best IC spirit. The planned programme could be easily followed thanks to the most favourable weather.

We were honoured by the presence of the chairman of the IC Council, Peter McQuibban, on the last day.

As usual, the IC of Belgium made some of the players honorary members during the closing dinner, which gathered 145 guests: Sabine Schmitz (Germany), Carmen Chilliqa (Spain), Dale Kozics (Canada), René Plant (South Africa), Maxime Buyckx (USA), Keith Porter (Canada), and Miguel-Angel Varela (Mexico).

The visiting ICs also honoured some IC of Belgium members: Annemarie Van Coillie by USA, South Africa, and Canada; Alex Lamquet by USA; and Pierre Mignot by South Africa.


Documents to download

Previous Article IC Council e-Newsletter - July 2023
Next Article AGM 2023
View more >>

Tennis Websites