Fixtures & Events

August 2023
2023 75th Anniversary of IC Belgium - Columbus Trophy and La Carreta

2023 75th Anniversary of IC Belgium - Columbus Trophy and La Carreta

Brussels, Belgium
June 25 - June 30, 2023
Royal Leopold Club

Women’s Captain:  Dale Kozicz
Men’s Captain:  Keith Porter

The Canadian team arrived in Brussels on Sunday, June 25th, to some spectacular tennis weather.  We traveled from the Catalonia Hotel over to the Royal Leopold Club for practice and an evening barbecue.  The atmosphere was fun as old friends reunited and new acquaintances were made. 

The competition was of the highest quality, the atmosphere and camaraderie all around was friendly and fun.  All in the spirit of what the IC represents.  The weather held out for the week and all the matches were played between two clubs.  The Canadian teams fought hard and in the end we placed 7th in the La Carreta.  The strong South African team took first place beating out the German team in the final.  The Columbus Trophy was also extremely competitive with Canada taking 8th place. The USA team won a tough match against Spain in their final, taking first place in that division.  

The Canadian teams had many tough matches. On the men's side Canada lost to Spain 6-0 in the first round, defeated Ireland 4-2  and lost to Belgium 4-2.  With Hans and Keith in the 65’s, Cameron and Belgium players, Phillippe and Pierre in the 55’s, the team fought hard.  On the women’s side Canada lost to Germany 3-0, then lost to the USA 3-0 before defeating  Luxembourg 2-1.  The team consisted of Anke and Dale playing the 60's and Marci in the 50's.  For more details please the draws and scores are included below. 

The La Carreta Trophy (ladies W50+ and W60+)  had 8 countries represented:  Canada, USA, Germany, South Africa, Luxembourg, Great Britain, Spain and Belgium.

The Columbus Trophy (mens M55+ and 60+) had 10 countries represented:  Canada, USA, Mexico, Luxembourg, France, Ireland, Spain, Great Britain, Belgium and The Netherlands.

Throughout the week IC Belgium provided wonderful lunches at the Royal Leopold Club.  Many players visited the Battle of Waterloo grounds on their free night, which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.  The final Gala dinner took place on Friday evening at the Royal Golf Club of Belgium.  At the prize giving ceremony Keith Porter and Dale Kozicz were made Honorary Members of IC Belgium.  South Africa also presented Dale Kozicz with an IC South Africa scarf.  Annemarie Van Collie was presented with an IC Canada scarf and made an Honorary Member of IC Canada. 

Canadian Players
Dale Kozicz
Anke Magnus
Marcie McLean

Keith Porter
Hans Muench
Cameron McLean
Pierre Thys (Belgium)
Philippe Dieudonne (Belgium)

Documents to download

Previous Article 2023 IC Bahamas Doubles
Next Article IC of Canada Philanthropy


«June 2024»

Upcoming IC Events